While anonymisation is one method we use at Applied to help you sidestep bias, we recognise that there are times when given team members need to know a candidate's name. Whether you're calling a candidate to give them good news or locating them so you can upload an updated CV, the risk of introducing bias is probably low, and their name could come in handy!
Previously, candidate names would be displayed in the list view by default (see below), but we know that different organisations, different teams, and even different hiring managers have their own preferences for working with candidate names. This is why, we've made it possible to set your default each time you build and launch a new role.
Default On or Off
When building a role, you can decide whether this role will default to displaying candidate names (ON) or hiding them (OFF).
If you choose to display candidate names by default (ON), whenever you navigate to the Candidate Management table, candidate names will be set to show.
If you choose to hide candidates names by default (OFF), the first name and last name columns in the Candidate Management table will be hidden.
Who is affected?
All users who access the specific role will be affected by the default setting. If you hide candidate names, they will be hidden for anyone who lands on the Candidate Management list for that role. If you choose to show them, they will be shown to all by default.
Which roles are affected?
You can make a different selection for each role you create and launch. This gives different TAs and hiring managers the flexibility to choose what's right for them.
Can I switch them back on/off?
Simple answer: yes.
If you are in the Candidate Management table and you want to hide/unhide candidate names temporarily, you can do so by opening up the 'Columns' drop down and making your selection.
This will NOT affect others who are viewing the same role and it will reset to the default if/when you reload the page.
Is the default locked?
Another easy answer: no.
If you wish to change the default, you can do so at any time by returning to the Job Settings tab in 'Build' and clicking on the toggle.
Doing so will impact all users who subsequently access the Candidate Management table for this role.
Who can affect this setting?
Anyone who has job admin access to the role can make changes to the default choice. Their changes will affect any and all job admins who are working on the role.
Users with Hiring Manager, Limited Hiring Manager or Contributor status have no access to the Candidate Management page.